Our baby step journey begins….

Hello friends! It feels so good to sit down at the key board with this blank screen in front of me as I type this blog entry.  It has been too long and I am eager to get back to my blog and start a new journey that I can share with you all.  Over the past several months, I discovered Dave Ramsey and am a regular follower now to his plan, books and YouTube channel.  I find myself listening to the Debt Free screams for encouragement and motivation to start our journey.  If you are one of Dave’s followers, you know that he refers to people as “nerds” or “free spirit”.  It sounds so odd but in our relationship, if I had to say one of us was a nerd, it would be my husband although he does not work on our budget or take part in any of the bill paying process which I hope in this journey, that will change.  I am definitely the free spirit but I feel so strongly that there is a nerd inside of me trying so hard to get out.  I want to be debt free so bad.  The life of being slave to the lender is a stressful one to say the least.  I’m tired of living paycheck to paycheck.  If you are interested in sharing your opinion in the comments, I would love to hear if any of you are debt free and how YOU went about achieving that.  When I was young, I remember my mom telling me that we could not do this or buy this because she did not get paid until next week.  It was normal.  My whole life it was like that.  Then I lived the same all of my life until now.  Now that I am older and tired of trying to outwork debt, I wanted to find a way to be debt free AND teach my children that it is absolutely NOT normal to be broke and live paycheck to paycheck.   I would love to hear some tidbits of your life story.  If you and your family lived paycheck to paycheck when you were a child, do you follow the same lifestyle now as an adult? Or if you had a very financially responsible family when you were a child, did you follow your parents path and live responsible as well?  Do you think that income is a major key factor in living debt free?  Since I started following Dave and just thinking about my own life, I am leaning toward the belief that it is a learned behavior.  What about you? Do you agree or disagree?  I would love to hear from you.  I’m very interested in changing my family’s path and I am truly interested in the general consensus about this.

A little about me:  I have worked at the same company for 19 years.  I am married and have 3 children living at home, 2 grown and on their own.  I see my 2 oldest children, living paycheck to paycheck and pretty much following the life we led as they were growing up.  As a parent, it makes me feel horrible.  I feel like I am responsible for not leading them properly about money.  The difference is that I am not going to lay down and cry and feel sorry for myself.  I am so driven to change our lives.  I want them all to see that none of us have to settle for this life style.  I am working on some personal growth goals for myself and I will change our family tree.  If you have not heard of Dave Ramsey and you are looking for guidance on getting out of debt, I encourage you to look him up.  He wrote the book, “Total Money Makeover” and it is absolutely inspiring.  One main reason I am drawn to Dave is because he actually went broke.  He lived it and got out of debt by following these steps and he is such a strong inspiration for me.  My husband and I are currently on Baby Step one which is to save $1,000.  This will be our emergency fund. Then we will go onto baby step 2 which is to gather all of your bills smallest to largest, except for your home, and start attacking the smallest one.  Pay it off and move onto the next.  It is called the Debt Snowball.

Thank you all for reading my blog post and I look forward to reading any comments!  I would love to keep this a positive, learning opportunity for anyone who might be in the same place in their lives so we can all work together on building a better, less stressed life.  I am ready to live like no one else so later we can live like no one else!

Thank you for being here and I can’t wait to talk to you again!

XOXO,

Heather

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

