7/30/2015 A lady who misses her blog:)

Hello everyone! Our computer at home has died a horrible death and we are trying to budget a new one into the household budget but with my sons’ birthdays and back to school. Mom is taking a backseat which is ok as long as the kids are taken care of first:) A few things that I have been working on since I wrote my last post:
1. Bookshelf that I bought for less than $5, sanded, primed, painted and polyurethaned and added a chalk board top per my client’s request.
2. Issue that I am struggling with as far as pricing furniture after I finish it. I really try to seek out bargain deals on furniture and I have been blessed in finding many people’s trash that I have turned to treasure. BUT I feel that I am pricing way to low. But the crowd that I am targeting and advertising in my town are very much want to buy the best of things for little money. For example, while I paid less than $5 for the bookshelf, I put all of the materials and my time spent with labor and I sold it for $20.00 How do you guys feel about that price? What are your secrets and advice when it comes to pricing? Please let me know! I’m thirsty for answers:)
3. Octagon end table that is huge! If there was another matching end table to this set, it would take up a very large part of someone’s room. I honestly would probably use it as a coffee table personally. But I am working on it now and I am in love with it.  Now that brings me to another issue I am having.  Or should I say my husband is having.  When I buy these ugly ducklings, I feel nothing for them.  But after they are done, I don’t want to sell them.  I want to keep them forever.  lol  Does anyone else experience this feeling of attachment?

4.  $15 garage sale dresser.  I found a dresser at a sale down the street from my house.  Got it home and started to clean it.  Then I opened the drawers and WHOA!!!!  Horrible musty smell.  I totally thought I was going to have to set it outside  my house with a FREE sign on it.  But then I read an awesome hint on a Facebook page, about trying Borax.  I had serious doubts about this but then I recleaned it about 4 times.  And it worked! I am a complete fan of the product BORAX!  I used super hot water and added the BORAX and it worked wonderfully.  It is now a must have on the grocery list!  This dresser we purchased specifically for my son so my husband is alright with me keeping this one.  Thank goodness.  I could never have parted with it:) lol

I can’t wait to be able to upload some pictures for you to see.  I am still very new to giving new life to old pieces but I am in love with the process, the paint, the furniture, everything.  I wish I could give up the money making job so that I could do this full time but the bills determine that is not going to happen anytime soon!

I hope you enjoyed the post even without the pictures and I’m looking forward to any comments, suggestions or stories that you might have about what I wrote.  If you have ever felt the same way I have, please let me know that I am not the only one in the world!

God bless!

Me and Matilda

Leave a Reply

